Sep 18 2019

UUK’s FAQ’s have been updated to reflect the current government position and can be accessed here.

In summary:

  • Any EEA national coming to the UK before exit day (i.e. 31 October) will be eligible for the EU settlement scheme. If they intend to stay in the UK (for any reason i.e. work or study) past 31 December 2020 then they will need to apply for settled or pre-settled status.
  • Any EEA national coming to the UK after exit day will not be eligible for the EU settlement scheme. For a transitional period after Brexit on 31 October 2019 until 31 December 2020, EU citizens and their family members will be able to move to the UK and live, study, work and access benefits and services as they do now.
  • EU citizens and their close family members who move to the UK after Brexit and wish to stay beyond 2020 will need to apply for a UK immigration status granting them permission to stay. After Brexit, the Home Office will open a new voluntary immigration scheme – the European temporary leave to remain (Euro TLR) Scheme – to provide a route to apply for this immigration status. Applications will involve an online process and identity, security and criminality checks. Successful applicants to the Euro TLR scheme will be granted a period of 36 months’ leave to remain in the UK, running from the date the leave is granted. After their leave to remain granted under Euro TLR has ended they will need to apply for immigration permission under the UK’s future immigration system.

We would therefore advise that where possible EEA nationals, particularly prospective staff, move their date of travel/start to before 31 October.