Oct 01 2019

Honorary Degrees are awarded at our graduation ceremonies and Honorary Fellowships are awarded at an annual ceremony held in May.

Please note: Awardees for 2020 have all accepted the offer of an award but will not be announced externally until nearer the time of the relevant ceremony. If your department wishes to contact a 2020 awardee or discuss their nomination, please contact the External Relationships team in the first instance.

Discover more about nominations for Honorary Degrees 2021 here.

In May 2020, Honorary Fellowships, recognising commitment to and support of the College, will be awarded to:

 Stephen Cox2011

 Stephen Cox CVO - former Chair of Council (2011-2018) 

 James Dixon photo approved

James Dixon - former senior tax executive at Ernst and Young, long term supporter of the College and alumnus (MA Modern History: Power, Culture & Society, 2005)

Vanessa Kingori approved photo

Vanessa Kingori MBE - Publishing Director of British Vogue and alumna (Sociology with Management Studies, 2001)

Approved photo 2 Andrew Parmley

Sir Andrew Parmley - MusM Hon FGS (Alderman), former Lord Mayor of London and alumnus (Music PhD, 1988)

 Fiona Wilkinson-502_high res

Fiona Wilkinson - President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW). (2019-2020) and alumna (French with Italian, 1976)


In July 2020, Honorary Degrees in recognition of outstanding achievements in their field of expertise will be awarded to:

 Margaret Busby approved photo

Margaret Busby OBE - publisher, editor, writer, broadcaster and alumna of Bedford College (English, 1965) 

 Elliot Gleave approved photo

Elliot Gleave (stage name Example) - musician, singer, songwriter, rapper and alumnus (Media Arts, 2003)


Gareth Griffith - Founder and CEO of SBG Sports Software and alumnus (Mathematics & Computer Science, 1984)     

Jackie Hunter approved photo

Professor Jacqueline Hunter CBE - Board director of BenevolentAI and Bedford College alumna (Physiology & Psychology, 1977 & Psychology PhD, 1981)

 Amanda Mackenzie Photo2

Amanda Mackenzie - CEO of Business in the Community and alumna of both Bedford College and Royal Holloway (Psychology, 1986)

Ravi M approved photo2

Dr Ravi Kumar Mehrotra CBE - Executive Chairman of global shipping company, Foresight

 Approved photo 2 Rupert Whittaker

Dr Rupert Whitaker - Founder of the Tuke Institute and alumnus of Bedford College (Psychology, 1984)