EU travel advice


Advice for students travelling to Europe in the event of a no-deal Brexit

  • Flights, ferries and trains to and from Europe should continue as normal
  • UK nationals will no longer be entitled to use the separate lanes provided for EU travellers and will be subject to the same border checks which apply to ‘third countries’ – be prepared for it to take longer than usual to get through customs
  • UK nationals will be visa-exempt ‘third country’ nationals.  This permits stays of up to 90 days in a 180 day period.  Longer stays, and work, would be subject to the visa requirements of the individual EU country  
  • The European Health Insurance Card (EHIC) will no longer be valid – you should therefore ensure you have travel insurance in place to cover health care
  • UK drivers may need to apply for an international driving permit.  These are available at The Post Office and cost £5.50.  You should check carefully which rules apply for the country you are travelling to
  • UK citizens driving in the EU will need to carry a green card in order for UK car insurance to be accepted in the EU  - speak with your insurer for more information on obtaining this
  • If you wish to travel to the EU with pets, there may be additional requirements for documents and health checks – UK pet passports will no longer be valid - speak with your vet in good time (e.g. 4 months) before travelling with pets
  • Data roaming charges are likely to apply – check with your mobile phone provider about the cost of using your mobile in the EU.

In addition, the passport rules for travel to most countries in Europe change if the UK leaves the European Union (EU) with no deal.

  • You should have at least 6 months left on your passport from your date of arrival. This applies to adult and child passports.
  • If you renewed a passport before it expired, up to 9 extra months may have been added to your new passport’s expiry date. Any extra months on your passport over 10 years may not count towards the 6 months that should be remaining for travel to most countries in Europe.

The new rules will apply to passports issued by the UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey.

Header Here

Text here