190820_160

PGR Student Reps


 

Want something discussed at your PGR School Student-Staff Committee or at the PGR Forum? want to ask a question or raise a concern? Make sure that you contact your PGR student rep or PGR Collective Convenor. All those listed below are PhD students unless otherwise stated.

 

PGR Collective Convenors

PGR Collective Convenor School Department Other roles Contact details
Shupin Liu Performing and Digital Arts Drama Member of PGR Forum Shupin.Liu.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Taylor Robinson EPMS Information Security CDT Member of PGR Forum Taylor.Robinson.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk

Business and Management SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Narayanan Gopalakrishnan Management Gopalakrishnan.2020@live.rhul.ac.uk
Nicole Hansen Management Nicole.Hansen.2012@live.rhul.ac.uk
Shweta Chowdhary Management Shweta.Chowdhary.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk

EPMS SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Oliver Bock-Brown Informarion Security CDT Oliver.Bock-Brown.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk
Elle Pearson Information Security CDT Elle.Pearson.2020@live.rhul.ac.uk
Darren Banfield Mathematics Darren.Banfield.2020@live.rhul.ac.uk
Petra Knapova Physics Petra.Hrubcova.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk
Sam Weller Electronic Engineering Samuel.Weller.2017@live.rhul.ac.uk

Humanities SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Jade Jainsworth-Walsh English Jade.Hainsworth-Walsh.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Dilara Scholz History Dilara.Scholz.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Kate Pozgay History Kate.Pozgay.2017@live.rhul.ac.uk

Law and Social Sciences SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Scott Downham Politics Scott.Downham.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk
Diana Bartman Politics Diana.Bartmann.2018@live.rhul.ac.uk
Hiram Carreno Najera Economics Hiram.Carrenonajera.2018@live.rhul.ac.uk
Mariana Bernad Economics Mariana.Bernad.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk

Life Sciences and the Environment SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Megan Poole Earth Sciences Megan.Poole.2018@live.rhul.ac.uk
Peter Krizan Earth Sciences Peter.Krizan.2017@live.rhul.ac.uk
Tanya Glazkova Earth Sciences Tatiana.Glazkova.2016@live.rhul.ac.u
Elisa Fernandez Fueyo Biological Sciences Elisa.FernandezFueyo.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Declan Perry Biological Sciences Declan.Perry.2013@live.rhul.ac.uk
Cordelia Tubb Biological Sciences Cordelia.Tubb.2022@live.rhul.ac.uk
Viki Webster Biological Sciences Viki.Webster.2018@live.rhul.ac.uk
Adriana Tubb Biological Sciences (MbyR) Adriana.Tubb.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk
Marianne Sarfati Psychology Marianne.Sarfati.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Chen-Yu Hsieh Psychology Cheng-Yu.Hsieh.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Elitza Ambrus Psychology Elitza.Ambrus.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk
Mollie Mills Geography Mollie.Mills.2015@live.rhul.ac.uk
Laura Hemmingham Geography Laura.Hemmingham.2021@live.rhul.ac.uk
Harri Hudson Geography Harri.Hudson.2015@live.rhul.ac.uk

Performing and Digital Arts SSC reps

PGR SSC rep Department Other roles Contact details
Teale Failla Media Arts Teale.Failla.2022@live.rhul.ac.uk
Shanika Ranasinghe Music Shanika.Ranasinghe.2014@live.rhul.ac.uk
Gwyn Donlon Drama Gwyneth.Donlon.2019@live.rhul.ac.uk

 

What do the roles entail?

PGR academic rep.

Your School's PGR Student-Staff Committee, held once a term, provides a valuable opportunity for you to voice your ideas on how positive changes could be made to improve the experience of you and your peers as postgraduate researchers at Royal Holloway. We would encourage PGR students from Masters by Research, ProfDoc, MPhil and PhD programmes from all stages to get involved and help make a difference.

This is not and elected role - you simply need to volunteer

A PGR academic rep. is expected to:

  • gather feedback from other PGR students and do investigative work that will lead to a positive changes to PGR provision 
  • attend comprehensive training provided by the Students’ Union
  • attend your School's PGR Staff-Student Committees (SSC) with academic staff to discuss the feedback you have gathered, as well as hearing from academics about any other matters of interest.  
  • feedback the outcome of any meetings / changes achieved with the rest of your cohort – helping all students understand how their feedback can lead to change
  • opt in to attend the PGR Forum

PGR Collective Convenor - one per School

This is an elected role.

The Collective Convenor for your School is expected to:

  • attend your School's RSOC (Research Students Oversight Committee) on behalf of the PGR community
  • attend Students’ Union Executives to represent the PGR community on Education and Wellbeing and diversity matters
  • attend the Doctoral School Committee, which has oversight of PGRs and doctoral programmes, to represent the PGR community
  • attend the PGR Forum
  • support PGR academic reps within your School, ensuring you gather their feedback in order to represent them effectively at the above committees
  • communicate regularly with the PGR academic reps and the VP Education

PGR Forum

The PGR Forum runs once a term and is an informal, solution-focussed space for representatives from the PGR School Staff-Committees and the SU's PGR Collective to work together with the Doctoral School and SU's officers to drive forward improvements for the postgraduate research community at a College level

 

Contact us

By email:
  • doctoralschool@rhul.ac.uk
  • Manned 9am-5pm, Monday to Friday

By phone:

  • 01784 276886
  • Manned 10am-4pm, Tuesday to Thursday

In person:

  • Visit our helpdesk in room S-105, Founder's South Tower
  • Open 10am-4pm on Tuesdays

 

Quick links

A to Z of the Doctoral School microsite

PGR SSC Terms of Reference

Guidance for Departments on MSTeams

Reps and convenors testimonials