Euro Union_ThinkstockPhotos-514114420


These FAQs cover a number of key issues that may affect Royal Holloway students


When will the UK leave the EU?

The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020 under the terms of the Withdrawal Agreement, which was made between the UK and the EU. (Separate agreements were made between the UK and Norway, Iceland, Lichtenstein, and Switzerland). These agreements became law in the UK under the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020. This enactment included the current transitional period, which is expected to continue until 31 December 2020.

How will Brexit affect current students?

The government has confirmed that students from other EU countries who are currently at UK universities and those starting in 2020 will pay the same fee as UK students for the duration of their studies.

How will Brexit affect student loans for EU students?

The government announced that EU students who applied/apply for a place at English universities in 2019/20 and 2020/21 will continue to be eligible for student loans and grants for the duration of their course. 

Will there be any changes to Erasmus?

The UK will continue to participate fully in Erasmus+ until the end of the current programme. This means EU staff and students can complete mobility periods (subject to public and global health requirements), and receive funding through the current Erasmus+ programme up until the end of the 2021/22 academic year, subject to the individual arrangements at each sending university. Updates from the British Council on the UK's position in Erasmus + can be found here.

How might Brexit impact student careers internationally?

EU students will continue to be able to take advantage of the free movement of workers within the EU as long as the UK remains a member. This will remain the case until the government decides otherwise.

For additional information and FAQs please visit Universities UK (UUK) Brexit FAQs.